Our Curriculum


The National Curriculum

The National Curriculum in England is currently in a process of transition. During the course of this academic year, the obligation to teach programmes of study from the old national curriculum have been disapplied and new programmes of study and attainment targets have completely replaced the old national curriculum. This new curriculum is often referred to as Curriculum 2014.



What is the National Curriculum anyway?

The National Curriculum defines the programmes of study for key subjects in maintained/ state primary and secondary schools in England (Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland have their own equivalents). Fundamentally, it sets out what your child should learn during their time at school.

Why the big curriculum change?

The main aim is to raise standards. Although the new curriculum is intended to be more challenging, the content is actually slimmer than the current curriculum, focusing on essential core subject knowledge and skills.

The main changes.

The table below summarises the main changes in the core subjects:


What’s new?


·  Stronger emphasis on vocabulary development, grammar, punctuation and spelling (for example, the use of commas and apostrophes will be taught in KS1)

·  Handwriting is expected to be fluent, legible and speedy

·  Spoken English has a greater emphasis, with children to be taught debating and presenting skills.


·  Five-year-olds will be expected to learn to count up to 100 (compared to 20 under the current curriculum) and learn number bonds to 20 (currently up to 10)

·  Simple fractions (1/4 and 1/2) will be taught from KS1, and by the end of primary school, children should be able to convert decimal fractions to simple fractions (e.g. 0.375 = 3/8)

·  By the age of nine, children will be expected to know times tables up to 12×12 (currently 10×10 by the end of primary school)

·  Calculators will not be introduced until near the end of KS2, to encourage mental arithmetic.


·  Strong focus on scientific knowledge and language, rather than understanding the nature and methods of science in abstract terms

·  Evolution will be taught in primary schools for the first time

·  Non-core subjects like caring for animals will be replaced by topics like the human circulatory system

Design & Technology

·  Design and Technology has become more important in  the new curriculum, setting children on the path to becoming the designers and engineers of the future

·  More sophisticated use of design equipment such as electronics and robotics

·  In KS2, children will learn about how key events and individuals in design and technology have shaped the world.

ICT now ‘Computing’

·  Computing replaces Information and Communication Technology (ICT), with a greater focus on programming rather than on operating programs

·  From age five, children will learn to write and test simple programs, and to organise, store and retrieve data

·  From seven, they will be taught to understand computer networks, including the internet

·  Internet safety –Digital Literacy ‘E-Safety’– will be taught in primary schools


·  Currently not statutory, a modern foreign language or ancient language (Latin or Greek) will be mandatory in KS2. Children will be expected to master basic grammar and accurate pronunciation and to converse, present, read and write in the language.

·  French is our language.


Our teaching of the National Curriculum at Whitstable Junior School stems from the needs and abilities of the children we teach. We believe every member of our school community is a life-long learner and that our role is to provide them with stimulus and skills, developing a thirst for knowledge, so that our pupils are empowered to fulfil their individual potential. To be the best they can be.

At Whitstable Junior School we aim to provide  the best possible teaching and learning opportunity for every child, utilising every opportunity at our disposal. We aim to provide an outstanding curriculum, a curriculum of innovation and inspiration, which is continually evolving in the best interests of our pupils.

We echo the government’s desire for children to become ‘educated citizens’ and so advocate a curriculum rich in literacy, containing a range of differing and stimulating experiences. It aims to be enjoyable, inclusive, engaging and link to the Core Values of our school.

 In line with guidance from the Department of Education, the ‘New National Curriculum programmes of study’ have been introduced as of this academic year – September 2014.

English, Maths, Computing, RE, MFL, Music and PE will continue to be taught as discreet subjects, unless we can exploit a meaningful link to our termly theme.

Other subjects,  namely History, Geography, Art, Design Technology and Science, are integrated together into Themes rather than being taught discretely in order to make them more meaningful to the children.